trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/otqeyenm4tj9qtnzyrredq2 content esgSubNav
Log in to other products


Looking for more?

Contact Us
In This List

White House names two for advisory board on privacy and civil liberties


Climate Credit Analytics: Linking climate scenarios to financial impacts


What’s next in Cloud?

Fintech Intelligence Digital Newsletter: April 2021


TMT Digital Newsletter: April 2021

White House names two for advisory board on privacy and civil liberties

The White House said Aug. 7 that President Donald Trump plans to nominate two individuals to join the Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board, an independent federal agency that advises the president and senior administration officials on privacy and civil liberties matters.

The two are Travis LeBlanc, former head of the Federal Communications Commission's Enforcement Bureau, and Aditya Bamzai, an associate professor at the University of Virginia School of Law.

In August 2017, LeBlanc was named an arbitrator of the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield Framework, a collaborative between the U.S. Department of Commerce and the European Commission to help companies comply with European Union data protection requirements. The U.S. will perform an annual review of the privacy shield agreement in October, the first assessment since the implementation of the E.U.'s General Data Protection Regulation.

Bamzai joined U.Va.'s law faculty in June 2016 and teaches about civil procedure, administrative law, federal courts, national security law and computer crime.

The announcements come as reports are surfacing that the U.S. Department of Commerce has been meeting with tech companies and internet service providers as it seeks to draft a national privacy framework by the fall.

Both nominations, which must be confirmed by the Senate, will be for the remainder of six-year terms. Bamzai's term would expire Jan. 29, 2020, while LeBlanc's term would run until Jan. 29, 2022. The five-member board typically includes a full-time chairman and four part-time members, according to its website, but only one current board member is listed: Elisebeth Collins, an attorney whose term also expires on Jan. 29, 2020.