trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/niC3C43ydM5Sf17TzXqoAA2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Top banking moves: EVP, COO of MidWestOne Financial, MidWestOne Bank to resign


Banking Essentials Newsletter: 23rd August edition


Banking Essentials Newsletter: 9th August Edition


Navigating Industry Level Credit and Market Risks in the Light of Slow Growth and Interest Rate Hikes


Kensho Launches Word Error Rate Calculator

Top banking moves: EVP, COO of MidWestOne Financial, MidWestOne Bank to resign

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a weekly news summary of executive management and board chair-level changes in the bank and thrift industry.

May 29

Kevin Kramer, executive vice president and COO of Iowa City-based MidWestOne Financial Group Inc. and its unit MidWestOne Bank is resigning, effective July 1, to pursue another opportunity.

MidWestOne Financial has begun its search for a successor.


Seattle-based Sound Financial Bancorp Inc. unit Sound Community Bank reassigned Christina Gehrke, its executive vice president and chief administrative officer, to a nonexecutive officer role at the bank.

Gehrke's executive duties will be redistributed between the bank's executive and nonexecutive officers.


Executive Vice President and CFO Scott Nogles was promoted to executive vice president and COO of Yorktown Heights, N.Y.-based PCSB Financial Corp. and its unit PCSB Bank.

PCSB Bank and its parent company also appointed Vice President of Finance and Accounting Jeffrey Helf as senior vice president and CFO, effective July 1.


Wells Fargo & Co. appointed Gary Owen as chief information security officer and head of information security. The company also appointed Steve Hagerman as head of consumer lending technology in the technology organization.

Owen will assume his role May 31, while Hagerman will begin in early August.

Owen previously was chief information security officer at Warner Media, LLC, formerly Time Warner. Hagerman previously served JPMorgan Chase & Co. as chief technology officer, managing director and head of home lending originations technology.


Richmond, Va.-based Atlantic Union Bank named Kelly Dakin as chief digital and customer experience officer.

Dakin was most recently senior vice president and chief digital officer for consumer and business banking at Santander Bank.


Michelle Zahn was appointed CFO of Webster City, Iowa-based WCF Bancorp Inc. and its unit WCF Financial Bank.

Zahn was previously vice president of finance and treasury at Fort Dodge, Iowa-based First American Bank.

Zahn replaces Paul Moen, who retired from the position May 28.


E. Stephen Lilly, COO of Bluefield, Va.-based First Community Bankshares Inc., is set to retire, effective Dec. 31.

Jason Belcher will replace Lilly, effective Jan. 1, 2020. He is the company's chief administrative officer.

May 28

Lane Lawson, director and CEO of Santa Cruz, Calif.-based Lighthouse Bank will retire at the close of the approximately $68.9 million merger between the bank and Santa Cruz, Calif.-based Santa Cruz County Bank.

Lighthouse Bank President Jon Sisk will join Santa Cruz County Bank as a regional president.


Vivian Mui was named senior executive vice president and chief credit officer of Lafayette, Calif.-based California Bank of Commerce, replacing John Lindstedt.

Mui, who is the bank's deputy chief credit officer, will assume her new role July 1.

California Bank is a unit of California BanCorp.


Debbie Steck, executive vice president of home lending operations for Mountlake Terrace, Wash.-based FS Bancorp Inc. unit 1st Security Bank of Washington, left her position at the bank, effective May 21.


Wellsburg, Iowa-based PSB Corp. elected Ryan Sheridan as president, the Waterloo-Cedar Falls (Iowa) Courier reported.

Sheridan is president and CEO of PSB unit Denver Savings Bank.


Larry Moennig is set to retire as president of First State Bank of Purdy, The Monett (Mo.) Times reported.

Effective July 1, Moennig will be succeeded as president by Randy Henderson, who is executive vice president at the Monett, Mo.-based Purdy Bancshares Inc. unit.

May 24

Hugh Boyle, executive vice president and chief risk officer of Santa Ana, Calif.-based Banc of California Inc., resigned from all positions with the company and its unit Banc of California NA.

Lynn Sullivan was appointed executive vice president and chief risk officer of the company and the bank, effective May 20.

She was most recently global head of anti-money-laundering policies, controls and governance/administration at Citigroup Inc.

Banc of California also appointed Ido Dotan as executive vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary of the company and the unit, effective May 28.

He most recently was executive vice president, assistant general counsel and corporate secretary at Carrington Mortgage Holdings LLC.

May 23

Abington Bank President and CEO Andrew Raczka will continue as president and CEO of the combined entity formed as a result of the merger between Easthampton, Mass.-based Hometown Financial Group MHC units Abington and Pilgrim Bank.

Raczka, who will also become president of Hometown Financial, and Abington Bank Chairman Paul Sullivan will join Hometown Financial's board as part of the deal.


W. Scott McSween, current president and COO of Alexandria, Va.-based Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Co., will become CEO of the company and serve in the role until the end of 2019, at which time he will retire from the bank.

David Boyle will succeed McSween as president and COO of the company, effective June 3. Boyle will become CEO at the start of 2020.

Boyle has been executive vice president and CFO at Shippensburg, Pa.-based Orrstown Financial Services Inc. unit Orrstown Bank for approximately the past seven years.

E. Hunt Burke will remain as the chairman of the Alexandria, Va.-based bank.