trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/jRpu671StNoeK4UGtjHy7A2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Board moves through April 8


Banking Essentials Newsletter: 22nd March Edition


Bank failures: The importance of liquidity and funding data


Staying Strong in Volatile Markets: How Banks Can Overcome Challenges to Funding and Lending


Silicon Valley Bank Uncovering Regional Bank Stress with Equity Driven Credit Models

Board moves through April 8

S&P Global MarketIntelligence presents an overview of various board changes at EMEA financialinstitutions. The changes are listed by announcement date in reversechronological order.

April 7

*ABN AMRO Group NV supervisoryboard member Bert Meerstadt resigned.

*The supervisory board of DeltaLloyd NV nominated John Lister and Paul Nijhof for appointment tothe board at the May 19 general meeting of shareholders. Lister is CFO ofAviva Plc unit AvivaUK Life, while Nijhof has extensive experience in the management of consumeroperations, including as CEO of RFS Holland Holding and Wehkamp.

*Mattioli Woods Plcnonexecutive director John Redpath stepped down to retire.

*OTP Bank Nyrt. unitJSC OTP Bankappointed Zoltán Major chairman of its board of directors, replacing IstvanHamecz.

*OTP Bank Plc announced that board member Péter Braun aged 80 after a long periodof illness.

*Varengold Bank AGsupervisory board member Edo Barac resigned. Following Barac's resignation, the local courtof Hamburg appointed Alexander Koerner, CEO of GreenShield Capital GmbH, as anew board supervisory member.

April 6

*Chase Bank (Kenya)Ltd. Chairman Zafrullah Khan and Managing Director Duncan Kabuistepped down fromtheir positions after the publication of the bank's 2015 financial statements.Muthoni Kuria was appointed as Khan's successor.

*Olga Zoutendijk, vice chairman of ABN AMRO Group's supervisory board, wasnamed chairman,replacing Rik van Slingelandt, who opted not to stand for re-election at thecompany's May 18 annual general meeting. Board member Hans de Haan will also stand down at the AGM.Since the group had already been aware of Bert Meerstadt intention to resign,it added that it would nominate Arjen Dorland, Frederieke Leeflang and TjallingTiemstra as new members of the board.

*Geoff Riddell was appointed nonexecutive chairman of Pool Re, replacingTony Latham, who is set to retire from the board after the company's June 28annual general meeting.

April 5

*UBS Group AGproposed RobertScully and Dieter Wemmer for election as new members of the board ofdirectors for a one-year term. Scully served as a member of the office of thechairman of Morgan Stanleyfrom 2007 to 2009, while Wemmer has been CFO of since January 2013.

*Park Group Plcappointed Laura Carstensennonexecutive chairman, replacing Peter Johnson, who is set to June 3. Carstensen hasbeen a nonexecutive director of the Co-operative Bank Plc since 2014.

* Zhanibek Saurbek toits board, replacing Daniyar Amanov, who resigned as of April 1. In addition,Mehmet Murat Sabaz and Ayse Aybala Simsek were appointed as executive vicepresidents, subject to the approval of the banking watchdog. 

*Stuart Clark, senior independent director at StatPro Group Plc, decided at the company'sannual general meeting on May 19. Jane Tozer will assume Clark's role.

April 4

*The shareholders of elected Majid Al Toqichairman of the board of directors. Tariq Al Ujaili was named vice chairman,while Tahir Al Amry was also elected to the board.

April 2

*Unione di Banche ItalianeSpA confirmed Andrea Moltrasio as chairman of itssupervisory board. Mario Cera was appointed senior deputy chairman, while Armando Santus was named board member. Other new board members are Giovanni Fiori, Paola Giannotti,Patrizia Giangualano, Gian Luigi Gola, Pietro Gussalli Beretta, PierpaoloCamadini, Letizia Bellini Cavalletti, Lorenzo Renato Guerini, GiuseppeLucchini, Francesca Bazoli, Sergio Pivato and Alessandra Del Boca.

Please forward news of boardchanges in Europe, the Middle East and Africa to