trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/FRvjkSh-kZdqJJAzr7e4aw2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Moves through Oct. 6


Insight Weekly: US inflation soars; real estate faces slowdown; megadeals drive tech M&A


Infographic: Q1’22 U.S. Wind Power by the Numbers


Understanding Loss Given Default A Review of Three Approaches


Insight Weekly: Path to net-zero; US manufacturing momentum; China's lithium M&A frenzy

Moves through Oct. 6

S&P GlobalMarket Intelligence presents a weekly rundown of recent executive management,board and regulatory changes in the energy industry. The moves are listed bysector in reverse chronological order.


U.S. GeothermalInc. namedRandolph Hill and James Pappas to its board of directors.With the new additions, theU.S. Geothermal board now consists of seven members.

HawaiianElectric Industries Inc. subsidiary Jim Kelly vice president for corporate relations, effective Oct. 3.He replaces Lynne Unemori, who isretiring after 31 years at the company.

AltaGasLtd. director Hugh Fergussondied, the companysaid in an Oct. 5 news release. Fergusson served as a member of AltaGas' boardand of the company's predecessor since 2008.

The parent company of 'sgeneration and retail businesses consummated its reorganization plan Oct. 3 andemerged from Chapter 11, according to a federal filing. EFH subsidiaryTCEH Corp. is theparent company of LuminantGeneration Co. LLC, LuminantEnergy Co. LLC and TXUEnergy Retail Co. LLC. CurtMorgan is assumingresponsibilities as CEO of TCEH Corp. Most recently, he served as aconsultant for the former TCEH's senior creditors. Prior to that, according tothe news release, he was an operating partner at Energy Capital Partners LLC.TCEH Corp.'s new board of directors consists of Gavin Baiera, Jennifer Box,Jeff Hunter, Michael Liebelson, CyrusMadon, Curt Morgan and Geoffrey Strong.

DynegyInc. made changesto its executive management team in anticipation of its of 's U.S. portfolio of generatingassets. Dynegy named Martin Daley tothe newly created role of executive vice president and COO. Dynegy also addedthe executive vice president for strategy role to Carolyn Burke's position as chief integration officer. Mario Alonso, who headed strategy, willtake over the new executive vice president role for plant operations for theElectric Reliability Council ofTexas Inc. region and CaliforniaISO, as well as for supply chain. The company also promoted Dean Ellis to senior vice president forregulatory and government affairs. He will report directly to Dynegy Presidentand CEO Robert Flexon. Dynegy alsoannounced that the head of its coal generating fleet, Daniel Thompson, is retiring in the second quarter of 2017. He willserve as executive adviser in the interim.

Bruce Doughertywill resign from theboard of Chugach ElectricAssociation Inc., effective Dec. 14. Dougherty serves as boardsecretary and is a member of the operations and governance committee. Hisresignation is not a result of any disagreement with Chugach Electric.


With WilliamsCos. Inc. focused on reshapingits board, three members have volunteered not to at the company'sannual meeting scheduled for Nov. 23. JosephCleveland, John Hagg and Juanita Hinshaw will end their terms asboard members in November. Four of the current directors who have served before2016 will join Stephen Bergstrom, Stephen Chazen, Peter Ragauss, ScottSheffield and William Spence ascandidates to stand for election on the annual meeting. The board also expectsto name two more independent candidates, which would bring the total number ofboard members up to 11, with 10 independent members. The addition of Chazen andRagauss prompted activist investor Keith Meister to withdraw his proxy contestto replace Williams' board with his own nominees.

MPLX LPappointed Pamela Beall to be executive vicepresident and CFO, effective Oct. 6. Beall is MPLX's executive vice presidentof corporate planning and strategy. Beall will report to MPLX and President Donald Templin. Beall replaces Nancy Buese, who accepted a position ata Denver-based public company.

The American Gas Association President and CEO Pierce Norton II as its board chairmanfor 2017. Kimberly Harris, presidentand CEO of Puget Sound EnergyInc., was named first vice chair, and Joseph Hamrock, president and CEO of , was named second vicechair. The officers were elected during AGA's annual meeting Oct. 4. The 2017board will also include NorthwestNatural Gas Co. President and CEO David Anderson, SouthernCalifornia Gas Co. Chairman and CEO Dennis Arriola, NewJersey Resources Corp. Chairman and CEO Laurence Downes, and SouthJersey Gas Co. President JeffreyDuBois, among other executives in the natural gas sector.

The Interstate Natural Gas Association of AmericaFoundation's executive director of almost 10 years , effectiveAugust 2017. Richard Hoffmann willbe helping with the transition process before the effective date of hisretirement. He previously served as director of the gas, environment andengineering division at FERC's Office of Energy Projects.

MarathonPetroleum Corp. appointedAbdulaziz Alkhayyal, a formerexecutive at the oil giant SaudiAramco, to its board of directors, effective Oct. 26. Alkhayyalworked at Saudi Arabia's national oil company for 30 years, most recently assenior vice president of industrial relations, until his retirement in 2014,according to an Oct. 3 news release. He was also a board member at Saudi Aramcofrom 2004 to 2014. Alkhayyal also serves as a director of

Gas NaturalInc. said in an SEC filing that Vice President and General CounselVincent Parisi is resigning,effective Oct. 28, to join NiSourceInc. as vice president of finance and regulatory.