trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/30qxCllwjdAz3MKL5NlPqQ2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Media & Comm director moves through May 10


Next in Tech | Episode 101 Data on Datacenters


Insight Weekly: Recession risk persists; Banks pull back from crypto; 2022 laggard stocks rally


Highlighting the Top Regional Aftermarket Research Brokers by Sector Coverage


Insight Weekly: Inflation eases; bank M&A slows; top companies boost market share

Media & Comm director moves through May 10

Media industry moves

* May 9 that it elected Mike Cotoia as its new CEO and as a board member.Previously, Cotoia served as COO of the company. Greg Strakosch assumed the positionof executive chairman and will continue serving as chair of the company's board.Strakosch will assist Cotoia with matters such as long-term strategy and investorrelations.

* May 5 that Mario Cibelli as a director. Cibelli waselected to Shutterfly's board at the company's June 2015 annual stockholders meetingas a nominee of activist investor Marathon Partners Equity Management LLC.

* said May 5 that President Jennifer Dulski waselected to the TEGNA board. Dulski previously led a global product at 's and served as group vice president andgeneral manager of local and commerce. Dulski's election brings TEGNA's board membershipto 11 directors.

* film and TV veteran Lauren Zalaznickan independent director. Zalaznick, who advises and invests in digital media startups,primarily focused on new content platforms, previously served Comcast Corp. unit NBCUniversalMedia LLC as executive vice president, Nielsen said May 2.

* said April 27 that it reached an agreement with Starboard Value LP and its affiliatesto name four new independent directors to Yahoo's board. Joining the board are JeffreySmith, a managing member, CEO, and chief investment officer of Starboard; Tor Braham,who previously served as managing director and global head of technology mergersand acquisitions for Deutsche Bank Securities; Eddy Hartenstein, CEO of the Tribune Co., now Tribune Media Co.; and Richard Hill, who is chairman of TesseraTechnologies.

Further,current independent directors Lee Scott and Sue James opted not to stand for re-electionat Yahoo's 2016 shareholder meeting, and have handed over their respective committeeresponsibilities to board members who will be up for re-election. Because the twoincumbent directors will not stand for re-election, following the annual meeting,the board will have 11 members. Committees have also been reconstituted. MaynardWebb will continue to serve as board chairman. Eric Brandt will chair the auditand finance committee, joined by Tom McInerney and Braham. Cathy Friedman will chairthe nominating and corporate governance committee, joined by Jane Shaw and Hill.McInerney will chair the strategic review committee, joined by Smith and Brandt.Shaw will serve as chair of the compensation and leadership development committee,joined by Webb, Friedman, Smith and Hartenstein.

Communications industry moves

* director Robert Bennettwill not stand for re-electionat the company's next annual meeting, according to a May 6 SEC . Bennett's decision was not due toany disagreement with the company.