trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/YlYMDPo-CMEg00QsE-QKRg2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Moves through Jan. 26


Despite turmoil, project finance remains keen on offshore wind

Case Study

An Energy Company Assesses Datacenter Demand for Renewable Energy


Japan M&A By the Numbers: Q4 2023


See the Big Picture: Energy Transition in 2024

Moves through Jan. 26

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a weekly rundown of recent executive management, board and regulatory changes in the energy industry. The moves are listed by sector in reverse chronological order.


* NiSource Inc. on Jan. 27 announced the addition of Peter Altabef to its board of directors, effective immediately. Altabef is the current president and CEO at Unisys Corp. and has previously served as president and CEO of MICROS Systems Inc. and Perot Systems Corp.

* FirstEnergy Corp. promoted Ebony Yeboah-Amankwah to vice president of state and federal regulatory legal affairs. In addition to assuming responsibility for labor, employment, benefits, real estate and tax law, Yeboah-Amankwah will continue to manage state and FERC legal regulatory affairs.

* Puget Holdings LLC subsidiaries Puget Energy Inc. and Puget Sound Energy Inc. have appointed Karl Kuchel to their respective boards of directors, effective Jan. 19. He replaces Alan James, who resigned from the companies' boards on Jan. 19. Kuchel currently serves as the CEO of Macquarie Infrastructure Partners Inc.

* Dominion Resources Inc. added Joseph Rigby and Susan Story to its board of directors, increasing the board size to 13 members. Rigby most recently served as chairman, president and CEO of Pepco Holdings LLC. He also has been a director of Dominion Midstream GP LLC since 2014. Story serves as president and CEO of American Water. The appointments are effective immediately.

* Commonwealth Edison Co. on Jan. 24 announced the appointment of Verónica Gómez as senior vice president for regulatory and energy policy, and general counsel, effective Jan. 1. She was previously the vice president and deputy general counsel for litigation at Exelon Corp. She replaces Thomas O'Neill, who was promoted to senior vice president and general counsel of Exelon. Gómez will report to ComEd President and CEO Anne Pramaggiore.

* Vivint Solar Inc. CEO David Bywater has been appointed to the company's board as a class III director, effective Jan. 19. Bywater, who will serve as a director until the company's annual meeting, to be held later this year, will not receive any additional compensation in connection with the new role.

* Portland General Electric Co. Vice President, General Counsel, Corporate Compliance Officer and Assistant Secretary J. Jeffrey Dudley will retire, effective July 1.

* The Tennessee Valley Authority board of directors elected V. Lynn Evans as chairperson. Evans replaces Joe Ritch, whose term along with two other directors, Pete Mahurin and Michael McWherter, expired Jan. 3. Evans becomes the first African-American and the first female to chair the utility's board. She joined the TVA board in 2013.

* Hydro One Ltd. appointed Jane Allen as senior vice president of strategy and innovation, effective Jan. 30. Allen most recently served as a partner at global management consulting firm Deloitte, where she advised leading energy companies and government entities on business strategy, operations and regulatory matters.

* Mizuho Americas LLC has hired Mark McLain and Peter Heller as managing directors focusing on equity trading for the utilities and energy sectors. McLain worked previously as managing director at Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services Inc. unit Ladenburg Thalmann & Co. Inc. Heller's previous position was head of trading at CRT Sterne Agee.

Midstream/gas utility

* Steven Schlotterbeck was appointed to the board of EQT Midstream Partners LP's general partner, EQT Midstream Services LLC, according to a Jan. 23 news release. The executive will also become president and CEO of the general partner, effective March 1, following the retirement of David Porges. Porges will continue as chairman.

* Atmos Energy Corp. promoted Christopher Forsythe to senior vice president and CFO, effective Feb. 1, after Bret Eckert resigned from the positions. Forsythe is vice president and controller of the utility company, a position he has held since 2009. He will report to CEO Kim Cocklin and serve on Atmos' management committee. In addition, Louis Gregory retired as senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary. A successor has not yet been named.


* Greg Norman has been promoted to director of the West Virginia Office of Miners' Health, Safety & Training, the governor's office announced Jan. 25. Norman has been with the agency since 2006 and has been deputy director since 2013. He also spent three years as a field representative and for United Mine Workers of America and later served as chairman of the Local 1713 safety committee and as president of the local. Eugene White will serve as the deputy director for the agency.


* President Donald Trump has appointed Commissioner Kristine Svinicki as the new chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and immediate replacement of current chairman Stephen Burns, an NRC spokesman confirmed.

* In an announcement that most likely will leave FERC without the quorum needed to vote out orders for some time, Norman Bay on Jan. 26 announced that he will leave the agency on Feb. 3. In a move that was not made public until earlier that same day, Cheryl LaFleur took the agency's gavel from Bay on Jan. 23 after President Donald Trump appointed her acting chair. Including Bay, FERC only has three sitting commissioners, all Democrats and the bare minimum needed to vote out orders under the agency's statutory quorum requirements. Since the agency has no sitting Republicans, LaFleur's appointment might have been expected given Trump's promises to rein in federal regulatory authority and Bay's former tenures as a federal prosecutor and head of FERC's enforcement office.

* On. Jan. 25, the Idaho Senate confirmed Republican Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter's reappointment of Paul Kjellander, a Republican, to a new six-year term on the Idaho Public Utilities Commission. Kjellander is currently serving as PUC president. The president is elected by fellow commissioners in April of odd-numbered years.

* New York State Public Service Commission Chair Audrey Zibelman will exit as the state's top utility regulator to head the Australian Energy Market Operator, or AEMO, departing the post at a time when she is named as a defendant in a federal lawsuit against nuclear credits approved under her leadership. Zibelman, who has steered the PSC since becoming chair in 2013, will assume leadership as the AEMO's CEO based in Melbourne, Australia, effective March 20, 2017.

* On Jan. 20, Gov. Bruce Rauner, a Republican, appointed Sadzi Martha Oliva to the Illinois Commerce Commission, or ICC, for a term that extends to January 2022. Senate confirmation of ICC appointments is required. However, Oliva is permitted to begin serving pending Senate action. Oliva fills a vacancy that was created when former Commissioner Ann McCabe, a Republican, left the ICC after her term expired earlier this month.

* On Jan. 19, North Dakota Public Service Commission member Brian Kalk, a Republican, announced that he will be resigning from the commission. Kalk has accepted a position as the Director of Energy Systems Developments for the Energy and Environmental Research Center at the University of North Dakota. Kalk is serving a term that expires in December 2020; however, his last day on the commission will be Jan. 31, 2017.