trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/yjo5bq7zdaols2yk_zqh2w2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Executive, director moves through May 18


Japan M&A By the Numbers: Q4 2023


Infographic: The Big Picture 2024 – Energy Transition Outlook

Case Study

An Oil and Gas Company's Roadmap for Strategic Insights in a Quickly Evolving Regulatory Landscape


Essential IR Insights Newsletter Fall - 2023

Executive, director moves through May 18

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a weekly rundown of recent board and executive changes in the metals and mining industry. The moves are listed in chronological order.

May 14

Paul Atherley was named as nonexecutive chairman of Rift Valley Resources Ltd.

Winmar Resources Ltd. nonexecutive director Noel Halgreen and Managing Director Rod Sainty stood down, with Michael Fry and Thomas Durr both named as nonexecutive directors.

Matthew Hird was appointed the CFO of Strongbow Exploration Inc., with immediate effect, ahead of the company reaching an investment decision for the South Crofty tin project and a planned dual listing on the London Stock Exchange's AIM.

Pacton Gold Inc. named Alf Stewart as a director to replace Richard Kusmirski.

The board of Santo Mining Corp. unanimously voted for Dao Duc Thang as its CEO, replacing Franjose Yglesias.

James Walchuck tendered his resignation as Tanzania Minerals Corp.'s president, CEO and director, effective immediately, to be replaced by CFO Rob Dzisiak in the interim. Meanwhile, Lorilee Kozuska was named interim CFO.

Platina Resources Ltd. named Corey Nolan as managing director and CEO, effective Aug. 1, succeeding interim CEO Chris Harley.

Campbell Baird agreed to join Eastern Goldfields Ltd. as an independent nonexecutive director, with immediate effect.

May 15

Karyono will step down as independent director of Geo Energy Resources Ltd., effective June 1, but will assume the role of head of operations.

Platinum Group Metals Ltd. addedPlatinum Group Metals Ltd. Hosken Consolidated Investments Ltd. nominee John Anthony Copelyn to the board as a director. Copelyn is concurrently serving as Hosken's CEO.

Jamie Levy was appointed to Montero Mining & Exploration Ltd.'s board as a director.

Athena Silver Corp. director LeRoy Wilkes resigned, with immediate effect.

Leng Xiaokang was appointed Asia Coal Ltd.'s executive director and group general manager, while Gao Liwei was named the group's general manager for China.

Pan Andean Minerals Ltd. named Sungbum Spencer Huh as CEO, replacing interim CEO and Executive Chairman Gary Anderson, who will remain as a member of the board of directors. Huh will also continue as president and director of the company.

AngloGold Ashanti Ltd. nonexecutive director Sindiswa Zilwa tendered his resignation, effective immediately.

Carlo Valente took over as interim CFO of Excelsior Mining Corp. following the departure of Mark Distler, who left the company to pursue other opportunities. Valente served as Excelsior's CFO from 2014 to 2016.

China Shenhua Energy Co. Ltd. Executive Director Han Jianguo tendered his resignation after reaching the mandatory retirement age.

May 16

Dow Chemical Co. CEO and Chairman Andrew Nivers will join the board of NOVONIX Ltd. as nonexecutive director, effective July 1.

Asaplus Resources Ltd. named Ong Yih Ching to its board as independent nonexecutive director, with immediate effect.

Richard Monti will replace Patrick Corr as chairman of Zinc of Ireland NL. Corr will remain as nonexecutive director.

Rift Valley director Stephen Dobson resigned, effective immediately.

Peter Torney stood down as director of Capital Mining Ltd., with immediate effect.

Glencore PLC director Martin Gilbert took a leave of absence until mid-October, citing a commitment as deputy chairman of Sky PLC.

Director Walter Henry agreed to take over as Platinex Inc.'s CEO, effective immediately, replacing James Trusler, who will stay as chairman of the company's board.

Komet Resources Inc. restructured its management to comprise Werner Claessens as president and CEO, Pascal Van Osta as vice president of exploration and COO, and Étienne Courchesne as CFO.

Pritpal Singh was named director of Trueclaim Exploration Inc.

Navasota Resources Inc. CFO Navjit Dhaliwal tendered his resignation, with immediate effect, to be replaced by Steven Mintz. Dhaliwal will stay with the miner as director.

Zayn Kalyan was appointed as director and interim CFO of Nexco Resources Inc. following the resignation of Jerry Minni.

Mandalay Resources Corp. directors Abraham Jonker, Amy Freedman, Bradford Mills, Peter Jones and Robert Doyle were re-elected to the board during the company's annual shareholders' meeting. Mills will continue to serve as chairman, with Jonker remaining the lead independent director.

The board of Brazilian steelmaker Usinas Siderúrgicas de Minas Gerais SA unanimously elected to extend the term of Sergio Leite de Andrade as CEO until 2020.

Chongqing Iron & Steel Co. Ltd. said Zhou Zhuping, Zheng Jie, Li Yongxiang, Tu Deling and Zhang Shuogong were named as directors during the company's annual general meeting. Independent nonexecutive director Hwang Yuhchang, meanwhile, will be no longer reappointed as director, due to other work arrangements.

Intact Gold Corp. CFO Konstantin Lichtenwald resigned, with immediate effect, to be replaced by Mo Ahmad.

May 17

Bin Cai resigned as nonexecutive director of Carpentaria Resources Ltd.

New Point Exploration Corp. added Eric Saderholm to its board as director, and Gerald Carlson stepped down and subsequently joined the company's advisory board.

Stuart Cameron was added to Northern Mining Ltd.'s board as a director.

Letho Resources Corp. appointed Dimitris Soudas as chairman, effective immediately,

Nicolette Keith took on the role of CFO at Ximen Mining Corp. The company also said Lorne Mann resigned as a director.

Comstock Metals Ltd. shareholders elected Arnold Tenney as a director during the company's annual meeting. In addition, Steven Goldman, Rasool Mohammad and Robert Luffman were re-elected as directors.

Black Isle Resources Corp. elected Eugene Beukman and Joel Dumaresq to its board, following the resignations of Marion McGrath and Bruce Downing as directors.

May 18

Hengxing Gold Holding Co. Ltd. President Chen David Yu resigned from his position, while Xiao Wei resigned as the independent nonexecutive director. Yang Yifang will take over the president role and join the board as a director. Additionally, Ke Jiaqi was appointed executive director, while Albert Fook Lau Ho will switch to a nonexecutive director role, from an executive director.

Jianhua Xing stepped down and Deshao Chen was added to the board of Fission Uranium Corp. as a nominee of CGN Mining Co. Ltd.

Andy Wilde agreed to join the board of Gladiator Resources Ltd. as a director.

Australian Pacific Coal Ltd. Chairman and nonexecutive director Peter Ziegler tendered his resignation, effective May 31.

Matthew Gili was included as director of Nevada Copper Corp.'s board.

Kalyani Steels Ltd. appointed Shrikrishna Adivarekar as an additional independent director for a five-year tenure.

John Kiernan stepped down as director of Kapuskasing Gold Corp.

Staffan Ever resigned from the board of Realm Resources Ltd. to focus on his other business ventures.

Matador Mining Ltd. appointed Paul Criddle as the managing director to oversee operations and manage the development of the Cape Ray gold project in Newfoundland.