trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/RNIm4tvYg7MmKyt-c7jgJA2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Moves through June 1


See the Big Picture: Energy Transition in 2024


IR in Focus | Episode 10: Capital Markets Outlook


Infographic: The Big Picture 2024 – Energy Transition Outlook


The Big Picture: 2024 Energy Transition Industry Outlook

Moves through June 1

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a weekly rundown of recent executive management, board and regulatory changes in the energy industry. The moves are listed by sector in reverse chronological order.


* Entergy Mississippi Inc. promoted Tianna Raby to managing counsel. Raby most recently served as senior counsel in the Entergy Corp. subsidiary's legal department.

* Elizabeth Hackenson will leave AES Corp. as senior vice president and chief information officer, effective June 30. Hackenson was responsible for technology and services to include information technology, cybersecurity, insurance programs and internal audit.

* Itron Inc. named Joan Hooper as senior vice president and CFO, replacing Robert Farrow, who has served as interim CFO since March. The appointment is effective June 5.

* New York State Electric & Gas Corp. and Rochester Gas and Electric Corp. appointed Carl Taylor as president and CEO, effective July 1. Taylor will replace Mark Lynch, who announced his retirement early 2017. NYSEG and RG&E are subsidiaries of Avangrid Inc.

* During the May 31 annual meeting of PG&E Corp., shareholders elected former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson to the boards of PG&E and its subsidiary Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Johnson will serve on the compliance and public policy committee and on the nuclear, operations, and safety committee of PG&E. He is currently a partner at the international law firm of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP.

* Voltus Inc. on May 31 announced the appointment of Jon Wellinghoff and Phil Giudice to its strategic advisory board. Wellinghoff is a former FERC chairman who most recently served as the chief policy officer of SolarCity Corp. Giudice is currently the CEO of Ambri.

* Sunrun Inc. shareholders elected Edward Fenster, Richard Wong and Leslie Dach as class II directors at the annual meeting May 26.

* Quanta Services Inc. named Jerry Lemon as chief accounting officer. Lemon, who recently served as vice president of accounting, succeeded Derrick Jensen. Jensen will continue to serve as CFO of the company. Separately, the company's stockholders elected nine directors during the May 24 annual meeting. They are Earl Austin Jr., Doyle Beneby, J. Michal Conaway, Vincent Foster, Bernard Fried, Worthing Jackman, David McClanahan, Margaret Shannon and Pat Wood III.

* At the company's annual meeting May 26, Total SA shareholders elected directors, voting to renew three-year terms for Patricia Barbizet and Marie-Christine Coisne-Roquette. The shareholders also elected Mark Cutifani and Carlos Tavares for three-year terms expiring in 2020. Directors Barbara Kux, Paul Desmarais Jr. and Marc Blanc departed the board, as their terms expired.

* At its May 25 annual meeting, Spark Energy, Inc. shareholders elected James Jones II as a class III director for a three-year term expiring in 2020.

* El Paso Electric Co.'s shareholders held an annual meeting May 25 electing directors and appointing executives, while two of the company's veteran directors announced their retirement. Paul Barbas and Raymond Palacios Jr. will fill the seats being vacated by the retirements of J. Robert Brown and Thomas Shockley III. The shareholders also elected Catherine Allen, Edward Escudero and Eric Siegel as class II directors for a three-year term expiring in 2020. Additionally, the shareholders appointed CEO Mary Kipp as president of the company. The company's senior vice president — general counsel, John Boomer, announced plans to leave in July. Adrian Rodriguez was appointed as vice president — general counsel and assistant secretary.

* Alliant Energy Corp. shareowners at the company's May 23 annual meeting elected Chairman, President and CEO Patricia Kampling, Patrick Allen, Singleton McAllister and Susan Whiting to serve on the board of directors for terms expiring in 2020.

Midstream/Gas Utility

* Tesoro Corp. and Western Refining Inc. completed their merger for a total consideration of about $5.8 billion. Tesoro appointed Paul Foster to its board, while Jeff Stevens was appointed to both boards of Tesoro and Tesoro Logistics. Foster and Stevens previously served as directors and executive officers of Western Refining, with Foster having served as chairman of the board and executive chairman and Stevens having served as CEO and director. Greg Goff will be retained as chairman, president and CEO of the combined company, while Steven Sterin would continue as executive vice president, CFO and president of Tesoro Logistics.

* Marathon Petroleum Corp. announced changes in its executive team with the appointments of MPLX LP executive Donald Templin as president of the parent company, effective July 1, and Mike Hennigan as Templin's successor. Templin is the president of the general partner of MPLX LP. Hennigan will take over his post June 20. Hennigan has resigned as Energy Transfer Partners LP’s president of crude, liquids and refined products, effective June 16. Prior to the recently closed merger of ETP and Sunoco Logistics Partners LP, Hennigan served as president and CEO of Sunoco Logistics. Both Templin and Hennigan will be on the board of directors of the general partner of MPLX and will report to Gary Heminger, Marathon's chairman, president and CEO.

* Callon Petroleum Co. Chairman and CEO Fred Callon on May 24 died "suddenly and unexpectedly," prompting the company to name Joe Gatto as the new CEO. Gatto will retain his duties as president and CFO, and the rest of the company's management team will also continue with their current roles. In addition, Callon Petroleum appointed L. Richard Flury as non-executive chairman, in place of Callon's position in the board as chairman.

* ONEOK Inc. and ONEOK Partners LP realigned their management team to consolidate reporting responsibilities. Walter Hulse III was named CFO while retaining his current position as executive vice president for strategic planning and corporate affairs. Kevin Burdick will become COO and continue serving as executive vice president. He is the chief commercial officer, but when his new position becomes effective, his commercial responsibilities will be the same, according to the release. Derek Reiners was appointed senior vice president for finance and will retain his position as treasurer. He will be leaving his position as CFO, to be replaced by Hulse.


* Patrick Condon stepped down from Cloud Peak Energy Inc.'s board, effective May 25. Condon's resignation "was not the result of a disagreement with Cloud Peak Energy on any matter relating to its operations, policies or practices."