trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/OA7lzOvEFNJ4PgIe7-wrsg2 content esgSubNav
In This List

Chesapeake Utilities names new president/CEO; PSEG appoints new board member


Despite turmoil, project finance remains keen on offshore wind

Case Study

An Energy Company Assesses Datacenter Demand for Renewable Energy


Japan M&A By the Numbers: Q4 2023


See the Big Picture: Energy Transition in 2024

Chesapeake Utilities names new president/CEO; PSEG appoints new board member

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a weekly rundown of recent executive management, board and regulatory changes in the energy industry. The moves are listed by sector in reverse chronological order.


* National Grid PLC named Earl Shipp as nonexecutive director of the board, effective Jan. 1, 2019. He will join the safety, environment and health committee, remuneration committee and nominations committee.

* Randy Hulen, NiSource Inc.'s vice president for investor relations, will assume the role of treasurer of the company. Meanwhile, Shawn Anderson will serve as both vice president for strategy and chief risk officer. The changes will take effect Jan. 1, 2019.

* Chesapeake Utilities Corp. named Jeffry Householder as president, CEO and a director, effective Jan. 1, 2019. Householder will succeed Michael McMasters, who announced his retirement in September but will continue as a board member. Householder now serves as president of the company's Florida business unit.

* Public Service Enterprise Group Inc. named Laura Sugg to its board of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2019. Sugg retired from ConocoPhillips as president of its Australasia division.

* Pinnacle West Capital Corp. named Jeffrey Guldner as president of its principal subsidiary, Arizona Public Service Co. James Trevathan was appointed as director of Pinnacle West and Arizona Public Service.

* Sunworks Inc. said Dec. 20 that it appointed Valarie Serrato vice president for residential business, effective immediately.

* Old Dominion Electric Cooperative promoted Richard Beam to senior vice president and COO, effective Jan. 1, 2019.

* Ameren Corp. appointed Noelle Eder to its board of directors, increasing the board size to 14 directors. The appointment is effective Dec. 15. Eder will serve on the board's audit and risk committee and nuclear and operations committee.

* Mark Hodges, CEO of U.K.-based Centrica PLC's consumer division, will resign from his role Feb. 28, 2019, to join Swiss Re AG as CEO of its U.K. closed book business. Centrica named Sarwjit Sambhi CEO of its consumer division and an executive director, effective March 1, 2019. Justine Campbell was appointed general counsel and company secretary, replacing Grant Dawson, who will retire March 31, 2019. The appointment of Campbell, who will become an executive committee member, will take effect April 1, 2019.

* Gil Melman will step down as vice president, corporate secretary and general counsel of Spark Energy Inc., effective Dec. 31.

Oil and gas utility/midstream

* Washington Gas Light Co. announced changes to its board, including the resignation of Phillip Knoll as a board member. Meanwhile, Randall Crawford was appointed to the board. Crawford serves as president, CEO and a director of Washington Gas Light's Canadian parent, AltaGas Ltd. Both changes were effective Dec. 14. In addition, Deborah Stein was named to Washington Gas Light's board, effective Jan. 1, 2019. Stein will take the place of John Lowe, who plans to step down as a board member no later than January 2019. Crawford will serve on the board's human resources committee, while Stein will be a member of the governance and environment and health and safety committees, effective Jan. 1, 2019.

* U.K-based mechanical and electrical services company EnerMech Ltd. named John Kennedy as chairman while adding Carlyle International Energy Partners LP managing directors and partners Joost Dröge and Bob Maguire as well as Philippe Boisseau as nonexecutive directors. The moves come after Carlyle Group LP closed its buyout of EnerMech.

* Bret Allan stepped down as CFO and senior vice president of Southcross Energy Partners GP LLC, effective Jan. 4, 2019.

* Southern California Gas Co. promoted President and COO Bret Lane to CEO, effective Dec. 18. Lane is succeeding Patricia Wagner, who in November was appointed group president of U.S. utilities for Southern California Gas' parent company, Sempra Energy.

* Wesley Christensen, senior vice president for operations at ONEOK Inc., will retire March 2, 2019.

* Panhandle Oil and Gas Inc. named Ralph D'Amico vice president for business development and investor relations, effective Jan. 2, 2019.

* The board of Gulfport Energy Corp. appointed David Wood as president and CEO, effective immediately. Wood will also join the company's board. Interim CEO Donnie Moore will now serve as COO, reporting to Wood.

* Tulsa-based Laredo Petroleum Inc. appointed Frances Powell Hawes as an independent director, effective Dec. 12. The appointment also grants her membership on the board of director's audit and nominating and corporate governance committees.

* Martha Wyrsch will retire as a director of Los Angeles-based natural gas distribution utility Southern California Gas. Wyrsch will also retire as executive vice president and general counsel of Southern California Gas parent Sempra. The changes will take effect March 1, 2019.

* International Petroleum Corp. announced that Canada-based producer BlackPearl Resources Inc. former President and CEO John Festival joined its board of directors, bringing the total number of members to eight. Former BlackPearl Vice President of Operations Chris Hogue was appointed IPC's senior vice president Canada, while former BlackPearl Vice President of Exploration Ed Sobel was appointed IPC's vice president exploration. The appointments come after IPC closed its acquisition of BlackPearl in an all-stock deal.

* Dan Amidon will retire as general counsel of PDC Energy Inc. on Dec. 31. The company named its current associate general counsel, Nicole Martinet, as its general counsel and corporate secretary, effective Jan. 1, 2019.

* Jay Browning will retire as executive vice president and general counsel of Valero Energy Partners GP LLC, the general partner of Valero Energy Partners LP, effective Jan. 1, 2019. Timothy Fretthold, Robert Beadle and Randall Larson will also step down as independent members of the general partner's board and cease to be directors of the general partner in light of the planned roll-up of Valero Energy Partners.


* Indonesian coal miner PT Adaro Energy Tbk. said it appointed Lie Luckman as its new CFO, effective Dec 1. David Tendian resigned from the board of directors.