trending Market Intelligence /marketintelligence/en/news-insights/trending/dwbir3ffw51pvcrgtdl-fa2 content esgSubNav
In This List

AMC Entertainment names new chairman; tronc chairman to retire


MediaTalk | Season 2
Ep.8 The Masters Returns

Case Study

A Sports League Maximizes Revenue from Media Rights


MediaTalk | Season 2
Ep.7 How The Business of Gaming is Changing


Next in Tech | Episode 161: Payment Technology In Automotive

AMC Entertainment names new chairman; tronc chairman to retire

S&P Global Market Intelligence presents a rundown of board changes in the U.S. technology, media and communications industries.

* AMC Entertainment Holdings Inc. appointed Maojun Zeng as nonexecutive chairman of the board. Zeng succeeds Lin Zhang, who recently resigned from AMC Entertainment's board as he takes on new responsibilities within AMC's controlling stockholder, Dalian Wanda Group Co. Ltd. and its affiliates. Zeng is an employee of Dalian Wanda Group and is the executive in charge of all of Wanda's film activity, including Wanda Cinemas, Wanda Films and the Qingdao Movie Metropolis.

* Michael Ferro is retiring as chairman of tronc Inc.'s board. The company said March 19 that CEO Justin Dearborn will be the new chairman of the board. Ferro's retirement comes as the company prepares to close on the $500 million sale of the Los Angeles Times to local ownership.

* Fusion Telecommunications International Inc. March 12 amended its merger agreement with Birch Communications Inc. to reduce the size of the board to seven members from nine members upon closing of the deal, according to a Form 8-K filed March 12.

* National CineMedia Inc. appointed Mark Segall and Renana Teperberg to its board of directors. Segall and Teperberg were nominated by Regal CineMedia Holdings LLC, pursuant to the director designation agreement dated Feb. 13, 2007, among the company and its founding members, American Multi-Cinema Inc., Cinemark Media Inc. and Regal. Segall is the owner and managing director of New York-based mergers and acquisitions corporate advisory boutique Kidron Corporate Advisors LLC. He is also the CEO of Kidron Capital Advisors since 2009. Teperberg has served as chief commercial officer of Cineworld Group PLC since 2016 and senior vice president of commercial from 2014 to 2015. Cineworld Group recently completed its acquisition of Regal's parent Regal Entertainment Group.

* Jan Docter is retiring from Booking Holdings Inc.'s board as of the company's annual stockholders' meeting scheduled to be held June 7. Docter's retirement is not the result of any dispute or disagreement with the company. The company said in a March 8 SEC filing that it nominated Mirian Graddick-Weir and Nick Read for election to its board at the annual meeting. Graddick-Weir serves as executive vice president of Human Resources at pharmaceutical company Merck & Co. Read is the CFO of Vodafone Group PLC.

* Jim Kirsch notified Professional Diversity Network Inc. March 6 of his intention to resign as co-executive chairman of the board. This notification triggered a 90-day notice period at the expiration of which Kirsch will no longer serve in this position. Kirsch's last day as co-executive chairman will be June 4, unless terminated earlier by the company. Following Kirsch's resignation, he will continue to serve as a director and nonexecutive chairman of the company and James Song will be sole executive chairman of the board, according to a March 8 SEC filing.

* Walt Disney Co. shareholders elected 10 members of the board at the company's March 8 annual meeting. The directors are Susan Arnold, Mary Barra, Safra Catz, John Chen, Francis deSouza, Bob Iger, Maria Elena Lagomasino, Fred Langhammer, Aylwin Lewis and Mark Parker.

* The Meet Group appointed Spencer Grimes a director of the company, effective March 5. Grimes' appointment was made pursuant to a cooperation agreement by and among the company, Kanen Wealth Management LLC and David Kanen.

* Townsquare Media Inc. increased the size of the board from seven to eight directors and appointed Co-CEOs Dhruv Prasad and Bill Wilson to fill the two vacancies: one existing vacancy and one vacancy resulting from the increase. Prasad will be a Class III director and will be up for re-election at the company's 2020 annual shareholders' meeting. Wilson will be a Class I director and will be up for re-election at the company's 2018 annual meeting.